Winter is quickly approaching

WinterNites

Hubby took this picture of the sun set at 3:30 this afternoon. We had a small glint of sunshine that quickly was hidden behind rain clouds again. The days are getting shorter and shorter. We need 15 minutes of sunshine a day to get the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D. That is not easy to get here. That  includes sunshine through clouds or even storm clouds as well. I guess that is where the saying of liquid sunshine came from. It has rained  for almost a month straight. We have had 4 days of sunshine in the last 30 days. 2 days were just a 30 minute glimpse of the sun like today and 2 days of sunshine. It feels like it has rained for over the better part of the last 2 months.

We live in the land of the midnight sun, but most people don’t think about that we live in varying degrees of darkness in the winter. The far north of Sweden they have total darkness in the dead of winter, but they do have Aurora Borealis to lighten the night skies. The Southern part of Sweden we have only a couple of hours of light during the day.

This years harvest has been stored away. The last of the gardening is being done for the year. It has been put to bed for the most part. I have to clean up the front flower bed and store the ceramic flower pots for the season. They will winter in the mini green house to protect the plants from our harsh winter. The winter pig has been ordered. Our winter clothes and shoes are in the closets and drawers. Our Summer and fall clothes and shoes have been cleaned and are packed away for this season. Flash lights and batteries are on stand by…Winter emergency supplies in the house and the car. Winter tires are getting put on the car.We are getting prepared for the harsh winter that is quickly approaching.

My pile of sewing is still awaiting my attention. I never got it finished in the spring. It has grown since then. It gives me something  to do during the cold winter nights. We have chores to get done like reorganizing our storage room. We have a trip to the dump I have a pile of new books to read.  Life is good.

This post was written November 4th.

 

Posted on November 13, 2014, in Everyday Life. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I find it hard enough that we only have 8 hours of daylight in midwinter. Can’t imagine the dark that you have to contend with… Sewing sounds a good way to spend the evenings, anyway. I’ve just got back into knitting and so far am enjoying it😊.

    • I guess I am use to it. I have a friend who lives very isolated. She can not see lights from neighbors. She turns on every light on her house when she is home. Her yard is all lite up. I do not know why but it doesn’t bother me. I know some people suffer from depression from the darkness. I assume it is because they are not getting enough Vitamin D.

      Luckily during the darkest time of year it is Christmas time. I decorate my house for christmas I have candle lights and soft lighting. A fire is always nice in the kitchen wood burning stove or our ceramic heater. They make the house feel cozy and welcoming. I love this time of year.

      I am planning in trying to do some crocheting this winter. I love crafts. How have you done on stopping using plastic bags. I have found it very difficult. It is more difficult that I though it would be. I am still trying though
      Honey

      • Yes, it does depend what you are used to!

        Re reducing my plastic waste, I have made progress on the packaging front. The challenge is ‘food’ my daughter likes such as crisps.

      • I am trying on the plastic waste. I think about it, when I am shopping.
        It is either learning how to make your own crisps or finding a substite that she likes. It is a suggestion.
        Honey

      • She likes shop bought everything in comparison with my cooking! But then also she is mindful of the environment herself.

        It’s very hard to avoid plastic but trying is the best you can do😊.

      • I know what you mean that I am trying my best as well.
        Honey

Leave a Reply

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

PARAthyroid PEEPS

Primary Hyperparathyroid Disease - Raising awareness and advocating for improvement in diagnosis and standards for surgical treatment.

Bee Kinder

Be Kind To Our Native Bees

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

How to Provide

for your family

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

theresilienthome

Peoplecare and beyond

The Most Revolutionary Act

Uncensored updates on world events, economics, the environment and medicine

Creator (GOD), is in Charge

May your own personal Creator (GOD) bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth (the WORLD) today and the rest of our lives!

Wobbly Warrior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding Truth In an Illusory World

TRUTHWordPress.com site

Workesforme

Random thoughts, topics, and philosophy

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

