15 Best fall Superfoods

How many of these foods are already in your diet? I consume 6 out of the 15 myself. Brussel sprouts are one not on my list. I have never cooked them myself. I have eaten them at friends and relatives houses. I have never been a fan of them. If anyone has a delicious recipe for them, please let me know. I use to hate liver as a kid. My mother made liver taste like eating a sole of a shoe. The first time I ate liver at a friend’s house that was properly made I was hooked. I am hoping that the reason that I do not like Brussel sprouts is because of how they were cooked. I guess that I will have to check recipes on the net. I want food that taste good not just food that is good for you.

Otherwise I am eating broccoli, cauliflower and cabbage as usual to get the same nutritional benefits that Brussel sprouts has in it. Brussel sprouts is a do able alternative in moderation.

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2014/10/27/15-best-fall-superfoods.aspx?e_cid=20141027Z2_DNL_art_2&utm_source=dnl&utm_medium=email&utm_content=art2&utm_campaign=20141027Z2&et_cid=DM58895&et_rid=706850356

Posted on October 27, 2014, in Health news. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I have no doubt that you diet is a healthy one. You grow such wonderful produce and eat it straight from the garden or freezer.
    I love Brussels Sprouts! But only the baby ones. I make soup from the big ones and serve it with croutons and crispy chorizo sausage. A real treat for me are the Brussels tops- the baby cabbage type leaves at the top of the plants. Lightly steamed they are delicious!
    Karen.

    • I will have to try it. I did not plant the seeds that you gave me this year. I will try them next year. I would love your recipe to give them a try. I have not tried it because they give you gas. My stomach is sooo bad right now. That I dare not try them. I realize that might depend on how they are prepared.
      Honey

      • I think you are right Honey to avoid them at the moment. You must be very careful until things improve. I make lots of soups because they then contain all the goodness of the vegetable and are almost a complete and comforting meal.
        Karen.

      • I am slowely adding a little veggies to my soups. I am craving fruits and vegetables. My belly disagrees with me. I am just having to learn different recipes to get the vitamins. Putting my vegetables in the food processor and or blender. I am going to figure this out.
        Honey

  2. I’m not a fan of sprouts either, though they are traditional at Christmas so no doubt I will get to eat a few (steamed). No idea what to do with them apart from that!

    • They are a favorite with many here for Christmas as well. I have always thought of them as fart bombs. Karen B said she has a delicious recipe. She also stated that they should be young sprouts. That might make a difference.
      Thanks for the referral as well.
      Honey

      • Hope you enjoy the recipe, if you decide to make it 🙂

      • I have been pretty ill for over 6 months now. I have been on a mostly liquid bland diet for almost 4 months. My intestinal track is so sensitive and can’t tolerate much. I am slowely trying to reintroduce solid food into my diet. I will be obstaining from this until my body has time to hopefully recooperate. I will be lucky that by Christmas that I will be able to eat regular diet.
        I am obcessed with recipes right now, because I can’t wait to enjoy a good meal. I am dreaming of all the food that I want to try and eat. I am hoping and praying this will be behind me soon.
        Honey

      • I do hope so, Honey!

Leave a Reply

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

PARAthyroid PEEPS

Primary Hyperparathyroid Disease - Raising awareness and advocating for improvement in diagnosis and standards for surgical treatment.

Bee Kinder

Be Kind To Our Native Bees

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

How to Provide

for your family

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

theresilienthome

Peoplecare and beyond

The Most Revolutionary Act

Uncensored updates on world events, economics, the environment and medicine

May your own personal Creator

bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

Wobbly Warrior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding Truth In an Illusory World

TRUTHWordPress.com site

Workesforme

Random thoughts, topics, and philosophy

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

