Pickled mix vegetables

1stBellpeppers

Our first 3 ripe bell-peppers of the year. I am pleased that they did so well. I am going to make stuffed red pepper with these tomorrow. There are 9 more bell-pepper almost ready to pick. We are going to freeze these for cooking later. Next year we will plant a few more plants.

GreenMators

I am going to use these half ripened tomatoes for pickling.

I think that they are very colorful and  will make the pickled vegetables look appealing.

LastBatch

This is all the ingredients for the pickled mixed vegetable that we are canning today. I don’t weight anything any more because I have made them so many times.

LastBatch2

Don’t all the different color vegetables pop in those jars?

This is a double batch. We made 11 jars. This is our last pickles for the year. I eat these with my dinner. Just a small portion wíth my meal aides my digestion.

LastBatch3

PICKLES

6 Small green tomatoes

200 g small green cucumbers

200 g green beans

200 g carrots

200 g cauliflower

50 g Horse-radish

SALT mixture:

1 liter water

1 dl salt

Vinegar mixture:

6 dl water

4 dl clear or white vinegar

6 dl sugar (ca 500 g)

1 bay leaf

1 tablespoon yellow mustard seeds

10 white pepper corn

( 2 dried red bell pepper)

Rinse and dry vegetables. Cut them in even pieces.

Mix ingredients for salt mixture and stir until salt is dissolved. Place vegetables in it except the horse-radish in the salt mixture for 24 hrs. Drain the salt water mixture out and rinse the vegetables off. Pour fresh water in the pan. Boil the vegetables with the Horse-radish 3-5 min. Drain the vegetables in a colander and rinse to quickly cool the vegetables off.

Make the vinegar mixture and make a cloth pouch with the bay leaf, gold mustard seeds, and 10 white pepper corns in it. I bring it to boil. Sanitize your jars and lids. Stuff the jars with the vegetables and pour the vinegar mixture in the jar leaving a 1/4 inch from the top. Place the lid on tight. Repeat until you have filled all your jars. Let them cool on a towel but make sure the jars do not touch.

My version of this recipe for one batch

The vegetables together should weight 1 kilo or about 2 lbs:

green tomatoes

cabbage

cucumbers

carrots

3 inch peeled piece of ginge

dill weed from 6-10 stalks using only crowns and leaves.

Vinegar mixture

6 dl water

4 dl vinegar

6 dl (500 g) sugar

2-3 bay leaf

4 cloves of peeled  and crushed garlic

1 tablespoon yellow mustard seeds

10 white peppercorn

100 g fresh ginger

Instructions:

I sanitize my jars and have them in the sink in boiling water. I pour the vinegar mixture and place bay leaf, the majority of the ginger, mustard seeds, garlic and white pepper corns in a cheesecloth pouch that I tie off with string. I place the pouch into the mixture. I stir it until it is mixed well and let it boil. I cover the bottom of  the jars first with dill, a thin slice of ginger,1/8 tsp of yellow mustard seeds  and one bay leaf in each jar. Then I pack it tightly with vegetables. I can not stress enough that you need to pack it tight. Otherwise once you fill the vinegar mixture over the vegetables , they will float to the top. There will be a gap in the bottom of the jar. You waste space and use a lot more jars un-necessarily. I pour the vinegar mixture in the jars and place the lid tightly on them. I place jars on a towel and let the jars set for 24 hours before I store them. I let these set for 3 weeks in our cellar, before we start eating them.

 

 

Posted on September 24, 2014, in Canning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I love stuffed peppers! My dad offered me a plant but I didn’t have enough room on my windowsills. Still, I ended up getting most of his fruit anyway – forgot about making them stuffed until I had already chopped them up for freezing. The feeling I had was probably similar to the one you had when you found out you didn’t need to dig up the celery.

    • I haven’t made stuffed bell-peppers for years. I recently saw a recipe for them on one of the blogs that I follow. I think it was chitra, but she had a whole new twist on making it. I started craving them.

      Sorry to hear you missed out on making them with your Dad’s bell-peppers. Hopefully your Dad has a few more bell-pepper left that he can give you.
      Honey

  2. Those peppers are AMAZING! And so are the pickles! So fresh, so bright and colourful in the jars! I wish I lived closer because I would love to spend time in your kitchen with you when you do your pickles.
    Karen

  3. Well done on the bell peppers—they look to be a good size and what a lovely colour. I am keen to try out your pickle recipe as well!

    • Thank for the praise on the bell peppers.This is our first successful harvest. We lost one to some critter that ate it. That is not bad.
      I hope you like the pickle recipes. I was surprised how easy they are to make.I wanted an idiot proof recipes because I am a relatively newbie at canning.
      Honey

  4. Hi Honey. Sorry I haven’t stop over in a while. I like your new header picture. Must be a n image of your garden.

    I thought you would be interested in this article i just published, based on information I investigated. Here is the link http://wp.me/p3kceC-WK . The article is titled “Still Suffering with a Gluten Free Diet Plan”. A link will aslo be included in our next news letter.

    Almost the weekend, so have a great one!!

    Regards,
    Randy

Leave a Reply

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

PARAthyroid PEEPS

Primary Hyperparathyroid Disease - Raising awareness and advocating for improvement in diagnosis and standards for surgical treatment.

Bee Kinder

Be Kind To Our Native Bees

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

How to Provide

for your family

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

theresilienthome

Peoplecare and beyond

The Most Revolutionary Act

Uncensored updates on world events, economics, the environment and medicine

May your own personal Creator

bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

Wobbly Warrior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding Truth In an Illusory World

TRUTHWordPress.com site

Workesforme

Random thoughts, topics, and philosophy

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

