Canned Salt Brine Pickles

  PicklesBch4Pic4 Last year I experimented with different pickle recipes. Each recipe has a little different flavor. All of them were delicious in their own way. The Salt brine pickles were a real surprise how well they turned out. I found in Sweden the only place that you can buy these are usually in a Deli here. They are a treat for us. I thought why not try to make them myself. I made only one batch of them last year. Hubby couldn’t get enough of them. I used table salt instead of pickling salt. The recipe didn’t specify it just said salt. I later found a recipe  using pickling salt. I realized the woman who wrote the recipe assumed that I would know that. I am a newbie  on canning. I didn’t know that. luckily the pickles were delicious. I thought they would be even better if they were a little less salty. That is not to say that I didn’t like them or eat them. He guarded them like they were gold.  I just wanted to tweak the recipe to improve on it for our taste. I could not find pickling salt any where. That is why I cut the salt in half, when using table salt.  Hubby agreed that they would be even better if I cut the salt in half. These were really popular with family and friends. I made these over the weekend. I figure I have one or two more batches left in my cucumber patch, before the patch is done for the season. I will be using pickling them with this recipe.   Canned Salt brine Pickle; 1 cups water 1 cup salt ( I couldn’t find pickling salt, used 1/2 cup table salt) 2 cups vinegar Dill Bring above mixture to a boil. Cool and pour over the pickles packed in jars. Seal. Can boil this and let it stand over night before using. I sterilize jars in boiling water and apple cider vinegar. I stuff a hot jar with pickles and fresh dill while mixture is boiling on the stove. I pour the hot mixture in the jar. I wipe off outside of jars and seal. I continue until all the jars are done. I place hot jars on a towel to cool slowly. I make sure the jars do not touch one another. I then place them in the food cellar for two weeks. They are ready to eat.  

Posted on September 3, 2014, in Canning. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

PARAthyroid PEEPS

Primary Hyperparathyroid Disease - Raising awareness and advocating for improvement in diagnosis and standards for surgical treatment.

Bee Kinder

Be Kind To Our Native Bees

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

How to Provide

for your family

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

theresilienthome

Peoplecare and beyond

The Most Revolutionary Act

Uncensored updates on world events, economics, the environment and medicine

THIS WAS AN ACT OF TERROR

AN ACT OF HATE TURNED INTO AN ACT OF LOVE!

Wobbly Warrior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding Truth In an Illusory World

TRUTHWordPress.com site

Workesforme

Random thoughts, topics, and philosophy

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

