The first Celery harvest of the season.

celery3

You can see the Celery has grown thick and luscious.We need to thin it out so the tomatoes can get sunlight and the remaining celery can grow bushier. We will harvest the largest plants. We have tomatoes that are turning red all in there.

celery1

These are the first 7 Celery stalks we have harvested out of the mini green house. We have at least 40 more to harvest later. Hubby wanted to thin it out to give the stalks more space to grow. Next year we should considering planting them in the Poly-tunnel because they mini green house is too small and the roof is too low for these surprisingly tall plants. I planted them a little too close together this year. I learned something new. We are so pleased with the Celery this year.

celery2

We rinsed them in vinegar water. We saved the leaves they are just as nutritious and tasty for soups, stews and stir fries. We cut these stalks in thin slices. We place them on baking paper on cookie sheet and freeze them. This keeps them from freezing in a clump, but individually. After they are frozen, we place them in Freezer bags in the freezer. You can just grab a handful or cup full depending on what you are cooking.
We pickled 15 jars of cucumbers today as well. They are on the table cooling.

Posted on August 16, 2014, in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I love celery, but I’ve never been able to grow it. Your harvest is amazing!

    • I tried to plant Celery the first year that we had a garden. I sowed the seeds directly into the rock garden. I waited and waited and nothing came up except weeds. I finally gave up and thought the seeds I bought were no good. I pulled the weeds and planted red, yellow and white onions in the spot. Later in the summer when I was weeding the onions. I saw a tiny little plant that looked like Celery. I pulled a peice off and smelled it.Then I tasted it to my surprise it was Celery.

      That crop never took off and grew to any size. I harvested a few plants but the onions were bigger than the celery. The stocks were really thin and tiny. It was almost comical. I have read a lot on the net the last couple of years to find how to grow celery. I was shocked that it is a very slow growing crop. It takes a minimum of 5 months depending on your climate.

      I decided to start it inside early. Transplant it into the green house. I planted it a lot closer than recommended because of my lack of space. That was the trick for me. It took a lot of patience. Voila!
      Honey

  2. Never realised you can eat the leaves. Next time I have some I will save them for the soup.

  3. Nice harvest Honey!! So nice to grow your own produce and can it or freeze it for later. Nice image of the cleaned celery by the sink!!

    • I really like celery and have been reading that it is very toxic with a multiple of pesticides. I have not seen organic celery being sold in our area. I really wanted to grow organic celery at home for our own consumption. This harvest should be more than enough to meet our needs. Hubby took the photograph. I just told him that you complimented him on the photo.
      Honey

Leave a Reply

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

PARAthyroid PEEPS

Primary Hyperparathyroid Disease - Raising awareness and advocating for improvement in diagnosis and standards for surgical treatment.

Bee Kinder

Be Kind To Our Native Bees

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

How to Provide

for your family

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

theresilienthome

Peoplecare and beyond

The Most Revolutionary Act

Uncensored updates on world events, economics, the environment and medicine

May your own personal Creator

bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

Wobbly Warrior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding Truth In an Illusory World

TRUTHWordPress.com site

Workesforme

Random thoughts, topics, and philosophy

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

