August 9th part 2

The garden is doing great. Hubby has done a fantastic job of keeping up with it. I unfortunately have been under the weather the last 4 months. The last two months I have not been able to tend the garden with him. I have to give credit where credit is due. He has worked hard to keep it going by himself. I wanted him to know how much I appreciate him. I help as much as I able to do. I miss working in the garden with him.

mators1

Look at how great the tomatoes have turned out. I can’t wait

until we harvest them.

mators2

mators3

The potatoes will be a great harvest this year as well.

tators

Posted on August 9, 2014, in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I hope you get to feeling better soon, and can do the gardening again. I really didn’t know that tomatoes could be grown in Sweden. I was canning tomatoes the other day with my Swedish mother who has dementia. She said her mother used to can tomatoes in Sweden. I chalked it up to forgetfulness, but maybe she did?

    • The climate is usually cooler, than we have had this summer. Most people grow tomatoes in green houses here.We have tomatoes growing in the Poly-tunnel and mini-green house.We have recently had the biggest wild fire in Sweden. It is in the North of Sweden. It covered 10 000 football fields. Sweden had to ask help from France and Italy with planes to dump water to try and put it out. We have had really warm and dry summer through out the country. It has been wonderful but too dry. They say you can not buy an electric fan in the whole of Sweden.They are all sold out and they can’t find anywhere that has them in stock.

      I am sorry to hear that your Mother has dementia. It always amazes me that Dementia patients remember the past more easily. Does she live at home with you or does she live in a facility?

      I hope that I will be better soon. Doctors are working on it. My health has improved some in the last 2 weeks. I count that as a blessing. I am getting some of my stregnth back.Thanks for your concerns.
      Honey

      • We just recently moved my mom from another state here to live right next door to us. I think she is at the point where she remembers Sweden and her younger years much more than day to day reality. She left Sweden when she was 28. She says she wants to go “home”. I don’t think she can make the trip. It has been about 5 years since she has been there.

        It’s August so she talks about crayfish all the time and how she and her uncle used to catch it in the lake and her grandmother would have the pot boiling and ready for when they brought up their catch. Don’t know if I can find any crayfish here, but I’ll have to try. 🙂

        I heard that Sweden was having a heat wave, but I did not know about the fires. We have air conditioning here as the summers are always hot. I can’t imagine how hot it must be to you, especially when you are not used to these kinds of temperatures. Good for the tomatoes, though!

        I’m glad you are getting some of your strength back. I hope it continues to get better every day.

        Karin

      • Hi Karin,
        It is nice to meet you. This is a time for the Crayfish festivals and dinner parties for the next 6 weeks in Sweden. We boil Crayfish with dill weed seasoning. You usually boil them the night before. We eat them chilled the next day. We wear party hats and bibs. You sing songs and drink swedish moonshine. It is a wonderful time of laughter and celebration.I am not surprised that she is missing it. That was a wonderful thing to move her near you so that she can have your company and support. I am sorru to hear that she is not well enought to visit Sweden again.
        Thanks for the well wishes.
        Honey

  2. What part of Sweden does your mother come from?

  3. I’m glad to hear you are better than you were Honey but sorry you have been really unwell.

    You are going to have a fabulous crop of tomatoes, anyway. Mine have only just started to form, due to the late start with me going to Japan.

    • We are so pleased with the tomato crop. We had not done well with tomatoes the last 3 years in a row. This year made up for it.I just hope my freezer will be big enough for this crop.I usually pickle mixed vegetables ( green tomatoes, cabbage, cauliflower, cucumbers).I wanted to make sun dried tomatoes.It looks like I should have more than enough to experiment with making them.
      I wrote that I have been ill to explain the change in subject matter in my blog. I have written more inspirational,garden signs… than gardening tips, barbecue recipes and such. Thanks for your concerns. I really appreciate it.
      Honey

Leave a Reply

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

PARAthyroid PEEPS

Primary Hyperparathyroid Disease - Raising awareness and advocating for improvement in diagnosis and standards for surgical treatment.

Bee Kinder

Be Kind To Our Native Bees

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

How to Provide

for your family

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

theresilienthome

Peoplecare and beyond

The Most Revolutionary Act

Uncensored updates on world events, economics, the environment and medicine

Creator (GOD), is in Charge

May your own personal Creator (GOD) bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth (the WORLD) today and the rest of our lives!

Wobbly Warrior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding Truth In an Illusory World

TRUTHWordPress.com site

Workesforme

Random thoughts, topics, and philosophy

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

