Earthship

http://earthship.com/blogs/2013/09/10-reasons-why-we-need-an-earthship-home/

This is the ultimate green home that sustains our environment, recycling unwanted materials, allows you to grow you own food. The best thing yet it is affordable and has all our modern conveniences. I want one. No electric, heating, water, sewer expenses and it is off the grid.

Posted on April 10, 2014, in Living Green. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Blogger made an excellent point that ‘sustainable doesn’t mean primitive’.

    • The man who designed the earthship has spoken to the parliment in Sweden (2011) about this ingenious green housing. This type of housing should appeal to the The public if they had the information of it’s existance. What I found interesting was that the Swedish parliment would only meet him in a close session. There is an Earthship club here trying to get a movement started. Their site in says he is touring Europe this year giving lectures on Earthships.

      • Interesting! I think we do need to start thinking about housing in a different way, though it will take a lifetime or more to make substantial changes to the housing stock.

      • I read testimonals that a 40 year old couple with no building experience built their home in 3 months. They followed the building plans. These homes can be built quicker than conventiona homes and are affordable housing (7000 -70000 dollars). The earthship group has gone to Haiti and are teaching them how to build their own homes.

      • Yes, it would work for new houses but I would be reluctant to knock down my mortgaged house and take out an even bigger loan to have an earthship, for example. It’s a terraced house as well, so practically I think it would be very difficult.
        Then there are also large numbers of people who live in buildings of historic interest – and in the UK we have very little land left for building, so knocking down would pretty much have to go on in a big way 😦

      • I agree with you on historical buildings. They are part of every countries historical and cultural heritage. I just think that maybe some of the technology could be incorporated in pre existing homes. That maybe incorporated into restoration homes. That future homes could be built with this technology. Water being used 4 times would be usefull in Drought ridden California right now. The practicallity of implimenting that on pre existing home with out financial incentives ( tax reductions) or assistance would make that difficult depending on your financial situation. The thing would be to search for sollutions to minimize expense. I realizes that the location of these building has an impact. I am sure that these building can be expanded. We have a housing shortage here. I believe if there is the will, there is a way. I would like to see options for multiple dwellings…. It is important that discussions like we are having right now take place. Finding flaws, sollutions, different applications and even exemptions from executing this technology and making it affordable will make it possible.
        Honey

      • Yes, I agree that discussions like this are important. You have highlighted a number areas which could be looked at in more detail as part of a solution. Adapting homes is a good start – costs might be easily recuperable in one way or another. For example, many people have taken up energy companies’ offers of having solar panels fitted, which benefits both parties. Unfortunately, my roof is considered too small but I was able to get a free upgrade on insulation from the government.

        I need new windows, partucularly for upstairs which I will have to pay for myself but my daughter’s bedroom is barely heatable at present, so saving energy would be a welcome bonus 🙂

      • Our energy companies are also offering solar panels at a small rebatt for homeowners here as well…The programs that you are talking about like free upgrades on insulation are excellent green solutions.

        Our house is also in dire need to have the windows redone. I have black out shades in every window. I pull them down even in the winter time because the shades provide darkness in the summer against the midnight sun and warmth in the winter against the cold. I also draw the curtains and drapes closed in the winter to further insulate against the cold. I do not own this house I rent it. I hope our landlord in time repairs these for us.

        Our windows are in good enough shape that we are warm and toasty in the winter. Our living room floor was icy cold during the winter. We only have an unheated and unused dirt cellar under us. I laid rugs down the second winter here. That made all the difference in our livingroom. It is made a huge difference in keeping it warm and comfortable. It provided insulation. I bought these nice rugs at second hand stores for hardly nothing.
        I read about these suggestion from a free magazine called “Vi Villa”= We homeowners. They talked about how to save energy and how to live in Historical homes. Our home was built around the 1800. This is a Swedish magazine we get in our mail box that gives a lot of information on government programs…. I always look forward to reading it.
        Honey.

      • Sounds like your magazine is interesting in lots of ways! I’m fortunate to have a new house (built in 1998), so it does have advantages already, such as low ceilings. And I don’t have a cellar… But the downside of that is much less storage space for all my allotment produce – maybe the loft will be okay instead? Won’t be damp, anyway.

      • We have a split cellar. One side is heated with pantry and two storage areas. The dirt cellar is like a crawl space and there is a access door.

        I really like where we live too. I use under our bed for extra storage space and even under our sofa. I have storage bags that fit under the sofa for extra bedding. You can’t see it unless you lay on the ground and look under the sofa. I am sure you will figure out what works for you and your house.
        Honey

      • I think minimalist living suits me best – spent a large part of my life living out of a suitcase but now with a seven-year-old it is harder to keep the clutter at bay.

      • I hear that. My cabinets, drawers and even closets are usually organized and tidy. I like to call my house lived in rather than cluttered. I do not live in a show room nor do I have a desire to live in one. I had a friend once say that my house makes you feel at home, comfortable and invites you inside. You can kick your shoes off and be relaxed. He also said he would like to have a child friendly house. They could still hav a formal Living room and dining room. That way his kids didn’t have to be afraid to touch things. I found that the greatest compliment.
        Honey

      • Well, my house certainly looks lived in!

Leave a Reply

Tallbloke's Talkshop

Cutting edge science you can dice with

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

PARAthyroid PEEPS

Primary Hyperparathyroid Disease - Raising awareness and advocating for improvement in diagnosis and standards for surgical treatment.

Bee Kinder

Be Kind To Our Native Bees

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

How to Provide

for your family

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

theresilienthome

Peoplecare and beyond

The Most Revolutionary Act

Uncensored updates on world events, economics, the environment and medicine

May your own personal Creator

Bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

Wobbly Warrior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding Truth In an Illusory World

TRUTHWordPress.com site

Workesforme

Random thoughts, topics, and philosophy

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

