Preparation for Spring begin!

We went shopping in town yesterday and I was so happy to see that we can buy seeds in stores now. We are writing our list of vegetables that we plan to grow this season. We are planning to plant; potatoes, lettuce, spinach, roman lettuce, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, onions, Swiss chard, cucumbers, string beans, pinto beans, peas, sweat peas, tomatoes, bell pepper, Mint, cilantro and rosemary. I need to decide what flowers I want to grow from seed for my hanging baskets and planters.

We plant to grow fewer potatoes this year, because we planted too many last year. I usually barter some with friends and neighbors. We gave away some to the neighbors before they went to seed. I plan to make some chicken pot pies to freeze that takes a nice chunk out of the rest. They are always a huge hit. We will still have some potatoes for ourselves , for seed potatoes for this growing season as well. We are pretty much set.

I plan to still grow sweet peas, but just a few plants in a planter on the patio. I prefer to eat them fresh during the summer. They don’t last long in the freezer. I have had to throw too many in the compost. I think it is sinful to waste food. I want to prevent waste as much as I possibly can. I will probably have to plant the cilantro in the green house as well as the Rosemary, because our summer nights are too cold for them.

We plan to buy seeds next week if everything goes as planned. Then we will have to write out our planting rows and spacing. We need to decide where we are going to transplant the strawberries. We need to put horse manure on the potato box and flower beds very soon as well. We then will start planting in trays and fixing grow lights over them. It is just a conformation that spring will soon be here.

I plan to write my chicken pot pie recipe later. I guess I could take some picture as I make them. I can show how I freeze them.

Posted on February 23, 2014, in Everyday Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Tallbloke's Talkshop

Cutting edge science you can dice with

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

PARAthyroid PEEPS

Primary Hyperparathyroid Disease - Raising awareness and advocating for improvement in diagnosis and standards for surgical treatment.

Bee Kinder

Be Kind To Our Native Bees

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

How to Provide

for your family

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

graleview

A great WordPress.com site

theresilienthome

Peoplecare and beyond

The Most Revolutionary Act

Uncensored updates on world events, economics, the environment and medicine

May your own personal Creator

Bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

Wobbly Warrior's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding Truth In an Illusory World

TRUTHWordPress.com site

Workesforme

Random thoughts, topics, and philosophy

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

